Who We Are

The Edwards Aquifer Conservancy (EAC) is a nonprofit, supporting organization set up exclusively for the benefit of the Edwards Aquifer Authority, a regional water management agency that regulates the use of the aquifer through integrity, transparency, and respect for the resource and the people who use it. As a supporting organization, it is intended that the EAC be operated, supervised and controlled by the Edwards Aquifer Authority as a Type l supporting organization in accordance with Internal Revenue Code §509(a)(3)(B)(i).

Funds raised by the EAC enhance the resources available for all aquifer users in areas such as public education, professional training aimed at collaborative measures for securing Edwards water quality, community science initiatives, and as a resource/partner providing community support for aquifer protection initiatives (such as hazardous materials collection in rural areas) .

The EAC has a seven-member Board of Directors, compromised of business and community leaders:

  • Ron Ellis, President
  • Benjamin Youngblood III, Vice-President
  • Enrique Valdivia, Secretary
  • Luana Buckner, Treasurer
  • Don Laffere
  • Pat Stroka
  • Byron Miller
  • Michael De La Garza, Executive Director


Edwards Aquifer Conservancy’s mission is to: solely support and benefit the work of the Edwards Aquifer Authority, including the establishment of programs and practices that protect habitat and species, sustain agricultural practices, promote water conservation, and support the development of water management solutions within the diverse Edwards Aquifer region.